A Pioneer Home
The Knudsen cabin, built by Porter Squires
for Wilhelm and Laura Amelia Knudsen in 1855,
was one of the first permanent structures in
Brigham City. Located on the corner of
First East and First South, the original
cabin was 14' x 18'. It had a loft running the full length of the
inside walls and was entered by means of a small, square,
outside door just below the gable. Six of their thirteen children
were born in the cabin during the years from 1856 to 1865.
The cabin was moved to Rees Pioneer Park in 1929 where it
could be preserved as a typical pioneer dwelling. The move
cost $15.00. Charles Squires, son of the original
builder, was hired to do some restoration work for
$221.00. It was dedicated September 8, 1929.
In 1993 Box Elder South Company Daughters of
Utah Pioneers made arrangements to lease enough
land to form a yard around the cabin permitting removal of the
1948 cover which had largely obscured it from view.
Renovation and restoration followed, including installation of a
clay floor, cedar roof, and half-loft; planting of old-fashioned
flowers in the yard; and furnishing the cabin with pioneer
originals and replicas - all combining to create more fully the
atmosphere of an 1855 pioneer home.
The cabin was moved to its present location in Brigham
Young Park on May 26, 2000. As their Centennial Project, the Box
Elder South Company of the Daughters of Utah Pioneers chose
to completely restore the cabin. Rotting logs were removed and
replaced with new logs, the chinking was replaced inside and
out, a wooden plank floor was installed, a chimney was built, and
a working fireplace was finished. Rocks were brought to covr
the foundation, and the landscaping efforts included planting
trees and flowers. Hours of labor and prayers of many people
have been expended in restoring this cabin to its present
condition. The dedication was held on June 1, 2001.