See the context of this sign.

Fillmore Pioneer Fort

This maks the southwest corner of the
fort, built in October and November 1851 as
protection from Indians. By August 17 families
under direction of Anson Call, Jesse M. Fox,
Superviser. About 2 city blocks in size, the
front wall, 3 to 110 feet high was built of
cobblestones. Other walls of mud, straw
and rocks. The east wall followed the foot
hills in circular form. Fort walls were
used as back walls of homes, mail station,
church, school, recreation ground, cabins
and corral were within and Chalk
Creek ran thru the fort.

Don't miss the rest of our virtual tour of Fillmore, Utah in 586 images.