See the context of this sign.

Cedar Springs Fort

(Buttermilk Fort)
Erected 1855-56, was 150 feet long north
and south by 75 feety wide. Facing each
other and standing 30 feet apart were two
rows of adobe houses. The gateways were
in the north and south walls.

Richard Johnson and William Stevens, Sr.
and families were the pioneers in the
spring of 1855, five other families from
Fillmore followed in the autumn and
assisted in constructing the fort, which
was completed in the spring of 1856.

The townsite was surveyed in 1867 by Edwin
King and the name Holden adopted in 1869.

Cedar Springs Camp - East Millard County, Utah.

Daughters of Utah Pioneers
No. 3
Erected 1935

Don't miss the rest of our virtual tour of Holden, Utah in 237 images.