West of the Mississippi
The parent school or the University of
Deseret, established November 11, 1860 in
the home of John Pack, was located on this
corner. Forty students enrolled the first
year. Produce, lumber, etc. were taken for
tuition and sold by Mr. Pack. Cyrus W.
Collions was the first teacher. In 1861 the
schools was moved to the Council House,
then to 13th War Hall, in 1867 back to the
Council House, 1876 to Union Square 2nd
West and 1st North Streets. In 1882 the name
was changed to University of Utah and in
Sept. 1900 moved to the present site.