See the context of this sign.

The Barton Cabin

In 1883, the colonizers moved from the fort to their
allotted town lots. The Barton town lot was located
here at the original location of the west wall of the fort.
The Bartons expanded the size of their home by joining
three one room log cabins together. Of the dozens of
log cabins that were once home to the San Juan
colonizers, the Barton
cabin is all that is
left. It is the oldest
tangible reminder
of early home life
on the San Juan
frontier. Within its
walls, the size of the Barton family grew from the four
that came to Bluff in 1880 to ten. Harriet and Joseph
Barton were stalwart contributors to the community
of Bluff and the colonization of the San Juan area.

Don't miss the rest of our virtual tour of Bluff, Utah in 266 images.