See the context of this sign.

1871 - 1987

Leamington was first settled in 1871, the town was named
by Frank Young who immigrated from Leamington,

The Mendallion was given to the town which came off a
English Ship named Leamington

On January 9, 1883 the
Leamington L.D.S. Ward was
organized with Lars Neilson as
Bishop and Wm. H . Walker
and Benedict P. Textorious as

In 1896 a building was
constructed by Nicholas Paul,
it was used as school and
church. Millard Country
furnished the bell which was
put in the tower, it cracked the
3rd time it was rang.

On February 27, 1899 one &
one fifth acres of ground was sold to Leamington
Ward and the Relief Society
for the sum of $30.00 by B.P.
and Josephine Textforious.

In 1903 a church building
began with bricks from the old
smelter. The building was
finished in 1910 and dedicated
June 1911 by Francis M.

The Bell then was placed in the
tower of the new building and
served the community each
Sunday morning for many

In 1952 the Bell was taken
down by the Leamington Boy
Scouts Troop No. 149. It was
welded and repaired by Wm.
Standley Bradfield and
reinstalled. It was in service for
sometime, when the church
was remodeled in 1970 the Bell
was taken down and put into storage

This plague was donated & paid for by the Anderson
Reunion Organization

The monument originator and White Stone donated
by Wm. Stanley Bradfield. A new chapel was build it
1986 at another location. The City of Leamington
purchased this Historic Building and Amusement
Hall, with four acres of land and two shares of water.

Don't miss the rest of our virtual tour of Leamington, Utah in 125 images.