See the context of this sign.

Settlement of Meadow

The first settlers, James & Janet Duncan with
four other families came in 1857, lived in dugouts
on the ridge one mile west. In 1859 a culinary
water problem caused them to move east
where ten families began the settlement
of Meadow, so named for its productive
meadowland. In 1863 WM. Henry Stott was
appointed presiding elder of the branch. The
ward was organized 1877 with Hyrum B. Bennett,
bishop. This church, built in 1884 also served
for school & public gatherings, as did the
first log school house of Meadow.

Camp Janet Duncan
Millard County

Don't miss the rest of our virtual tour of Meadow, Utah in 133 images.