See the context of this sign.

Settlement of Blanding

A canal was surveyed from Johnson Creek
on Blue Mountain to White Mesa; In 1902-3
lots were staked for homes. Two years
later Albert R. Lyman and family pitched
first tent and settled one block west of
this site. In 1907 a tent school was established.
Population increased by families from Bluff
and refugees from Mexico. Called "Grayson"
Postal Service changed the name to "Blanding"
in 1915. Last Indian uprising of frontier west
occurred here in 1923. Death of Ute Chief "Old
Posey" ended the trouble. This bell rang for
church, school, fires, and other occasions.

San Juan County, Utah.

Don't miss the rest of our virtual tour of Blanding, Utah in 600 images.