Site of the original Summit Stake Tabernacle 1879-1971
Soon after the Summit Stake was organized on July 9, 1877, it was decided that a
tabernacle should be built. Thomas L. Allen was appointed architect and builder,
and the plans for the building were approved by Church architect Truman O.
Angell. Ground was broken in the spring of 1879, with the cornerstone being laid
by Apostle Franklin D. Richards on Aug. 7, 1879. Construction of the tabernacle
included 600,000 locally made bricks and 75,000 feet of lumber. Oregon red pine
and native lumber from Echo Canyon were used, and standstone came from the
Coalville Ledge quarry. Painters and artists for the building were Anthony Olsen
and his son Christian M. Olsen. Gothic stained-glass windows were imported
from Belgium. The tabernacle was dedicated on May 14, 1899 by President
Lorenzo Snow. Seventy-two years later, on March 3, 1971, the building was razed.
Stained-glass windows and portraits of Church leaders were preserved and can be
viewed in the present stake center. The tabernacle and the stake center that
currently resides on this location were built of members of the Church through
their faith and testimony of the restored gospel of Jesus Christ.
This plaque was placed September 17, 2005