Junction was settled about 1877 near the confluence of the Sevier River and the East Fork of the Sevier River. The Tushar mountains rise to elevations above 10,000 feet, just to the west of town, and across the narrow valley, the mountains of the Sevier Plateau reach nearly as high. Junction itself sits at exactly 6,000 feet. The Piute Reservoir, a large artificial lake on the Sevier River is located not far to the northeast.
Piute County had a mining boom in the early days of Junction, most of which took place further north near Marysvale. Originally the county seat was located at Bullion, in the mountains west of Marysvale. When the mining boom was over, the county seat was moved to Junction, and Bullion became a ghost town. The original Piute County Courthouse, which was built in 1903, still stands today, listed as a National Historic Site. It serves now as a Bed and Breakfast, while a new courthouse has been built at the north end of town.
The population of Junction is just 177 people, making it a tight-knit community, isolated far from population centers. U.S. Highway 89 passes north-south through town, leading to Circleville, a short ways south and Marysvale to the north. State Highway 153 begins at Junction and crosses the Tushar Mountains westward to Beaver. Utah Highway 62 junctions with highway 89 a couple miles south of Junction. The city was incorporated on April 7, 1913.
Rosella Johnson, a relative of the UntraveledRoad team, was postmaster in Junction in its early days.